Unleashing Poetry

poetryy

Are you afraid of poetry? Have you always been told that “good” poetry is made up of difficult words, enigmatic literary devices? Have you always thought that you won’t ever be able to write a poem?

If the answer to the above questions is YES, welcome on board.  Today I will prove you that POETRY can be fun, that POETRY is about YOU, it is about US, so we can approach it and we cannot escape it.  We can write POETRY for different reasons: to have fun with words, to express our feeling and to speak up and have our own say.  POETRY can aim at consoling, at entertaining, but it can also aim at awakening people’s conscience, making others see your point about things that are meaningful to you and that you feel the urge to share with others.

In pairs answer these questions:

What does poetry mean to you?  Is it something you are passionate about?

Do you think it can change lives?

Does it make people think about issues or look at the world in a new way?

Is it fun?  Do you enjoying playing with words and images?

These quotations may help you clarify what poetry is to you.  Which quotation is closer to your idea of poetry or of the role of the poet?

You-will-find-poetry-nowhere 516638f9d493e.preview-300 robert-frost-quotes-sayings-on-poetry-300x300 Quotation-Rayvon-L-Browne-simple-poetry-Meetville-Quotes-3284

what-is-poetry3 quote-Thom-Gunn-my-old-teachers-definition-of-poetry-is-50442 herman de vries (4) poetry3

Dis poetry
© Benjamin Zephaniah (http://benjaminzephaniah.com/)

Dis poetry is like a riddim dat drops
De tongue fires a riddim dat shoots like shots
Dis poetry is designed fe rantin
Dance hall style, big mouth chanting,
Dis poetry nar put yu to sleep
Preaching follow me
Like yu is blind sheep,
Dis poetry is not Party Political
Not designed fe dose who are critical.
Dis poetry is wid me when I gu to me bed
It gets into me dreadlocks
It lingers around me head
Dis poetry goes wid me as I pedal me bike
I’ve tried Shakespeare, respect due dere
But did is de stuff I like.

Dis poetry is not afraid of going ina book
Still dis poetry need ears fe hear an eyes fe hav a look
Dis poetry is Verbal Riddim, no big words involved
An if I hav a problem de riddim gets it solved,
I’ve tried to be more romantic, it does nu good for me
So I tek a Reggae Riddim an build me poetry,
I could try be more personal
But you’ve heard it all before,
Pages of written words not needed
Brain has many words in store,
Yu could call dis poetry Dub Ranting
De tongue plays a beat
De body starts skanking,
Dis poetry is quick an childish
Dis poetry is fe de wise an foolish,
Anybody can do it fe free,
Dis poetry is fe yu an me,
Don’t stretch yu imagination
Dis poetry is fe de good of de Nation,
Chant,
In de morning
I chant
In de night
I chant
In de darkness
An under de spotlight,
I pass thru University
I pass thru Sociology
An den I got a dread degree
In Dreadfull Ghettology.

Dis poetry stays wid me when I run or walk
An when I am talking to meself in poetry I talk,
Dis poetry is wid me,
Below me an above,
Dis poetry’s from inside me
It goes to yu
WID LUV.

I find inspiration everywhere – in everyday things that happen to me, in things that happen to others, and in the issues that I feel strongly about. I even look for inspiration in my dreams, and I have to confess I have got lots of ideas when overhearing people talking on the bus! (Benjamin Zephaniah)

Zephaniah uses poetry to comment on the world around him and to say things which are close to his heart. Often it is about politics and the barriers of culture and race in society. He writes to give voice to the breaching of human rights as well as animal rights.

What are the issues that are dear to you? What are the topics you would like to investigate? To write about?

In pairs jot down a few topics.

poetic-pen

Now let’s start with this:

Title:
Name:

This poem is like a ……………………………….
The tongue fires a …………………………………
This poem is designed…………………………….
This poem …………………………………………
Preaching follow me
Like you is ………………………………………….
This poem is not …………………………………..
Not designed for those who are……………………..
This poem is with me when I………………………
It gets into me………………………………………
It lingers around…………………………………….
This poetry goes with me as I ……………………..
I’ve tried……………………………………………
But this is…………………………………………..

(source: loosely based on http://www.channel4learning.com)

18 thoughts on “Unleashing Poetry

  1. MY POEM
    This poem is like a beautiful day and no matter what it says
    The tongue fires a puzzle full of words
    This poem is designed for me
    This poem is for all
    Preaching follow me
    Like you, it is unsinkable
    This poem is not your doom
    Not designed for those who are far from the melody
    This poem is with me when I cry
    It gets into me everywhere I go
    It lingers around my life
    This poetry goes with me as I feel about
    I’ve tried to don’t be insecure about me
    But this is only the beginning

  2. Personal
    Opinion and
    Emotions
    That are
    Released by
    Your heart

    Team: Klarissa Pali, Federica Angeli, Giulia Pacella, Chiara Mellina Bares, Lara Zanini

  3. When the Rain Drops

    This poem is like a light breeze after the storm
    The tongue fires words like a lightning in the sky
    This poem is designed for those who believe that
    This poem will help them swim
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is the rainbow that chases after the rain
    This poem is not about weather
    Not designed for those who cannot see the sun behind the clouds
    This poem is with me when I drown
    It gets into me heart and soul
    It lingers around me like a blanket that keeps me warm
    This poem goes with me as I reach the surface once more
    I’ve tried writing about serious stuff
    But this is what I feel when the rain drops

    Chiara Mellina Bares

  4. This poem is like a rainbow after the rain
    the tongue fires a melody
    the poem is designed for creative people
    this poem is freedom
    Preaching follow me
    like you is a loyal puppy
    This poem is against negativity
    Not designed for those who are constantly mad at life
    This poem is with me when I’m down
    It gets into my hear
    It lingers around my smile
    This poetry goes with me as I live my simple life
    I’ve tried to change for other people
    But this is me and I won’t be anyone else.

  5. Name: CHIARA
    Surname: TOFFOLI
    Class: 1^F

    This poem is like a song
    The tongue fires a rhythm
    This poem is designed to exite me
    This poem is about me, my life, my feelings
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is born and and raised my mind and my emotions
    This poem is not a fun or a game
    Not designed for those who are people insecure to them
    This poem is with me when I am sad, lonely, and worried
    It gets into me like a power
    It lingers around like an important thing
    This poetry goes with me as I with it
    I’ve tried everything to make it have a meaning in my life
    But this is a poem not a song than I love.
    THE END

  6. This poem is like a scream
    I can solve my problems screaming out my feelings
    My tongue fires all the thoughts I kept into me like a secret
    I kept them inside me because I didn’t want to hurt you
    But now everything has changed.
    This poem is designed for who lost but get out as a winner.
    And you, you felt so strong then, now you’re alone.
    This poem speaks about me and the liars like you
    “Follow me in ecstasy” I told you,
    But you decided to take your way
    And now you’re in a cage.
    This poem is what you become
    Not meant for those who are loyal
    This poem is with me when I think of you
    It gets into me when I relive the memories of us together
    It lingers around my head
    This poem goes on as I walk
    I’ve tried to keep you , I trusted you
    But this wasn’t enough, you were already on your way,
    Now you’re in a dark and lonely world,
    Alone,
    And I let you go.

    Personal
    Observations and
    Emotions.
    This is poetry to me.
    Rare form of art
    You must investigate to understand my heart

    Luna Bucovaz
    1^I

  7. My funny little poem
    Giulia Pacella

    This poem is like a breath of fresh air
    The tongue fires words that will surprise
    This poem is designed for people who want to have fun
    This poem doesn’t want you to waste time
    Preaching follow me
    Like you were blind
    This poem is not a sad song
    Not designed for those who are serious
    This poem is with me when I sing alone
    It gets into me like fireworks
    It lingers around my head
    This poetry goes with me as I dance like a crazy
    I’ve tried not to smile like an idiot
    But this is what I can do better.

  8. This poem is like a thought
    The tongue fires a speech
    This poem is designed for those who ‘love’
    This poem is nothing but a bunch of lies
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is one of them
    This poem is not sincere, I swear
    Not designed for those who are themselves
    This poem is with me when I get sad
    It gets into me like smoke
    It lingers around my head
    This poetry goes with me as I walk around
    I’ve tried so hard
    But this is too much

  9. This poem is like a world of deep words
    The tongue fires an instinctive rhythm
    This poem is designed for questioning people
    This poem will not let you get bored
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is an inquiring child
    This poem is not a messy jumble of sounds
    Not designed for those who are narrow-minded
    This poem is with me when I breathe
    It gets into my nostrils
    It lingers around my hears
    This poem goes with me as I talk to you
    I’ve tried minding my feelings
    But this is my outburst.

  10. My poem

    This poem is like an orchestra
    The tongue fires a magical symphony
    This poem is designed for who is able to play it
    This poem will help you to hear
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is the deepest of the blue oceans
    This poem is not superficial
    Not designed for those who are afraid of his immensity
    This poem is with me when I explore the world
    It gets into me like a hurricane
    It lingers around my heart
    This poetry goes with me as I sing
    I’ve tried to let me hear from all
    But this is impossible

  11. Paint your
    Own
    Emotions
    Through words and
    Rhymes to
    Yell who you are

    Giulia Santarossa, Gioia Magliaretta, Federica Bravin, Erika Cerutti

  12. On the road of our lives
    Erika Cerutti

    This poem is like a long well known road
    The tongue fires a mumbling about and old beloved song
    This poem is designed for the ones who don’t see in black and white
    Because they know they may be wrong or may be right.
    This poem is personal and won’t trick your mind
    Preaching follow me
    Like you is trapped and in a bind.
    This poem is not for a blind to hear
    Not designed for those who are always criticizing fears.
    This poem is with me when I don’t have anything but sadness to display
    It gets into my soul to light it up when it isn’t a good day
    It lingers around my heart and touches it in a cozy way
    This poetry goes with me as I drive blissfully along the road of my life
    I’ve tried conforming to others in the engorgement
    But this is way more exciting, being who I am without discontent

  13. This poem is like a world of signs
    The tongue fires a river of promises
    This poem is designed by our mind
    This poem expresses us
    Preaching follow me
    This poem is not a simple writings
    Not designed for those who are
    This poem is with me when I go around
    It gets into me like a hurricane
    It lingers around you and me
    This poetry goes with me as I go around
    I’ve tried to be like other people
    But this is what I am

  14. It is probably Summer. There’s a crowded Beach, many People are there. They could be Teenagers on Holiday, they’re all Friends because they’re sitting close to one another. There’s a Van and a Tent a few Steps away from them. They’re probably on an Adventure-Holiday, on a Road Trip and now, at Sunset, they decide to settle on that Beach for the Night. They’re all relaxed, listening to a Boy playing Guitar… there’s Peace and Quiet. Memories flow among them.

  15. When you’re hurt
    Everything gets hard
    You cannot feel alive anymore.
    That Time on the Bench at Night
    You could tell me anything about you.
    We freeze
    But you still go on.
    Keep talking
    Reveal yourself
    Your Soul
    Your Life
    Your Secrets
    Hide your Hands inside your Pockets
    Get closer to me, It can heal you
    I swear
    I’m not lying
    Believe me
    This is heart-melting
    Hold me
    Pick up every Piece
    Words bleed out
    Nice Necklace
    What a Heartbeat

Leave a Reply

